October 25, 2013

To My Mom on Your Birthday,

“God blessed my life as335 a woman with you” the political activist Milada Horakova wrote in a letter to her daughter Jana in 1950. This is the most uncomplicated yet profound way I have found to describe the love I feel for you. You deserve every day to know that you are a blessing.

You are bricks and might and foundation. You are wisdom and depth and truth. You are grace and beauty and reassurance. You are home. You are love. You deserve every day to know that you are exquisite.

You once shared with me that you marveled at my strength, wondering from whom I inherited it. My dear mother I grew up watching a woman who spent every day on her feet, someone who rarely sat down. I observed a woman who softened the suffering of others with stoicism and compassion.  I witnessed a woman who sculpted hardships and rejection in her own life into immovable love and loyalty. Being an invention of this woman it should come as no surprise that I am strong. You deserve every day to know that you are a well from which strength flows.

When I look at myself in the mirror I see you. How fascinating it is to look at another human and intimately recognize each crevice, shadow, shade, and curve. You and I have been intricately built and layered to proudly exhibit our heritage, we share a journey. We are pages in a story of hundreds of years of women who came before us and who will come after. I find such comfort in knowing that when our pages shuffle into history yours and mine will remain side by side; one helps to make logic of the other. Isn’t that the truth of our lives? One of us without the other does not make much sense.

On your birthday I would be remiss not to tell you that your mark on the world is simply lovely mom. You are an incredible woman with whose life I am so fortunate to be intertwined. I pray that you wake up today and every day feeling gratitude for the orchestra of traits that make you beautiful. You are so very loved.

Happy, happy birthday.

In Celebration of You,

Your Daughter

2 thoughts on “A Letter from a Daughter to a Mother on Her Birthday

Leave a comment